A special Commemorative Services honour the birthdays and mahasamadhis of the SRF line of gurus. Mahasamadhi means "great ecstasy", the union of the soul with the Infinite during a God-realized yogi's final exit from the physical body.

These services are primarily intended for SRF students and other devotees who regularly attend SRF services. However, all are welcome who are familiar enough with SRF teaching to appreciate the significance of the Guru-disciple relationship and to participate in the service with sincerity and reverence.

Those who attend bring a flower as a symbol of devotion to the one being honoured and a donation in an envelope as an expression of loyalty to the SRF path.

Sri Yukteswar

The Vibration of Blessing

lotusThe vibrations of blessing during special services are much stronger than on other days in the year, because in the astral world, also, a celebration is taking place. If you participate in this ceremony with sincerity and devotion you will reap spiritual benefits and will find your high resolutions strengthened.


Dates of Services for 2018

5 Jan
7 pm
Birthday of Paramahansa Yogananda (1893)
13 Jan Sat
10 am – 5 pm
Paramahansa Yogananda Commemorative
7 Mar Wed
7 pm
Mahasamadhi of Paramahansa Yogananda (1952)
9 Mar Fri
7 pm
Mahasamadhi of Sri Yukteswar (1936)
30 Mar Fri
10 am – 12 noon
Good Friday Meditation Service
1 Apr Sun 6 am 7.50am Easter Sunrise Service
(followed by our normal Sunday program)
10 May Thu
7 pm
Birthday of Sri Yukteswar (1855)
25 July Wed
7 pm
Mahavatar Babaji Commemoration Day
2 Sep Sun
11 am
Janmashtami (birth of Bhagavan Krishna)
26 Sep Wed
7 pm
Mahasamadhi of Lahiri Mahasaya (1895)
30 Sep Sun
11 am
Birthday of Lahiri Mahasaya (1828)
15 Dec Sat
10 am – 5 pm
All-Day Christmas Meditation